Ram Nath Kovind elected India’s 14th President, to take oath on July 25

NDA candidate Ram Nath Kovind has won presidential election with a clear majority of 65.6 percent votes.

Giving India its second Dalit president, former Bihar Governor Ram Nath Kovind today won the presidential election with a comfortable margin against Opposition nominee Meira Kumar.

After final round of counting, Ram Nath Kovind got 7,02,044 votes out of a total of 10,69,358. His opponent and former Lok Sabha speaker Meira Kumar won 3,67,314 votes.

With the backing of the ruling National Democratic Alliance (NDA) and few other parties, Kovind’s victory in the race to the Rashtrapati Bhavan was a cakewalk and much expected.

Incumbent Pranab Mukerhjee’s last day as president will be on July 24 and Kovind’s oath-taking as India’s 14th president will be on the day after.

President-elect Ram Nath Kovind will be administered oath by the Chief Justice of India Jagdish Singh Khehar in the Central Hall of Parliament.

Pranab Mukherjee had also taken charge on July 25, 2012.


Leave a Reply