Karnataka LS members spent 75 p.c. of MPLADS funds

Members of the 15th Lok Sabha from Karnataka have spent about 75 per cent of the funds under the Member of Parliament Local Area Development Scheme (MPLADS). Among them, Bellary MP J. Shantha has spent the least — Rs. 5.89 crore out of the Rs. 12.11 crore released (48.65 per cent).

According to the Union Ministry of Statistics and Programme Implementation, the 28 LS members from Karnataka were entitled to a total fund of Rs. 516.93 crore during 2009-14, out of which they made proposals for Rs. 500.01 crore. The Union government released Rs. 446.5 crore and the members spent Rs. 336.37 crore for various projects, including drinking water facility, education, power supply, health and family welfare, roads, and sanitation.


Though Mandya MP Ramya is listed as the least spender (Rs. 5.4 crore out of the Rs. 14.61 crore released) with 36.97 per cent utilisation of funds, the data pertains to the whole of the 15th Lok Sabha term. Ms. Ramya was elected to the Lok Sabha in the byelection in August 2013 after N. Cheluvarayaswamy quit the seat following his victory in the Assembly election.

Another prominent least spender is Uttara Kannada MP Anant Kumar Hegde. He has spent about 58.89 per cent of the funds released by the Centre — Rs. 7.13 crore out of the Rs. 12.11 crore.

Union Minister of State for Micro Small and Medium Enterprises K.H. Muniyappa is fourth among the least spending MPs from the State. Representing Kolar for the sixth consecutive time, Mr. Muniyappa spent Rs. 11.56 crore out of the Rs. 17.11 crore released, accounting for 67.57 per cent utilisation.

Among the top spenders are Dharwad MP Prahlad Joshi with 109.6 per cent utilisation of funds (Rs. 13.27 crore spent against Rs. 12.11 crore released), followed by Gulbarga MP and Railway Minister M. Mallikarjun Kharge (94.46 per cent utilisation; Rs. 16.16 crore spent out of Rs. 17.11 crore released), Bagalkot MP P.C. Gaddigoudar (88.27 per cent, Rs. 15.1 crore spent out of Rs. 17.11 crore); Bangalore North MP D.B. Chandre Gowda (86.75 per cent, Rs. 14.84 crore spent out of Rs. 17.11 crore) and Davangere MP G.M. Siddeshwar (85.75 per cent, Rs. 14.67 crore spent out of the Rs. 17.11 crore released).

Kharge stands first

In terms of the amount spent, Mr. Kharge stands first (Rs. 16.16 crore), followed by Dakshina Kannada MP Nalin Kumar Kateel (Rs. 15.96 crore), and Mr. Gaddigoudar (Rs. 15.1 crore).


Leave a Reply