Journalists conferred with VN Kagalkar Memorial Awards

Veteran Journalists Shivaraya Doddamani and Senior Jpurnalist Mrs Sheela Tiwari were conferred with prestikgious VN Kagalkar Memorial Awards today at HKCCI Auditorium in Gulbarga.many other Journalistrs were alkso bestowed upon with awards in different categories.These awards were conferred by the Gulbarga unit of the Karnataka Union of Working Journalists (KUWJ) today (Friday 29th July ) , a series of awards for different categories of journalists working in Gulbarga district .

President of the KUWJ Gulbarga unit Sharanappa Gobbur Presided over the Function here, Gulbarga District Incharge Minister Dr Sharan Prakash Patil Presented the award to the awardees of this year. While Mr Dinesh Amin Mattu attended as the Special guest of the Function.Dr Patil and Mr Mattu alongwith the JKUWJ office bearers inaugurated the program by watering a plant.Former State Cabinet Minister Mr Qamar-ul-Islam MLA , BG Patil MLC , Syed Ahmed Mayor Gulbarga were also present as guests of Honor at the occasion.

the Guests lauded the efforts of the journalists especially ones from rural areas and regional languages for their tremendous work and ethics. they hoped that the journalists from the region shall always be in forefront to uphold the democratic and social values. They also pointed out the need of Media being an independent watchdog to monitor the errors of other three pillars of democracy.

DSC_0778 copy

The institution of an award in memory of the former correspondent of The Hindu V.N. Kagalkar and a series of other awards for senior and budding journalists, photojournalists and electronic media personnel. The Main award consisted of a  commemorative Citation, a Shawl and Rs 5000.  while 13 Other awards with Prize Money 1100, a shawl and Commemorative Citation were given out.

A committee of senior journalists had been constituted to select the winners of the awards which announced the list of awards on on July 26, during the Press Day celebrations , gave out the awards today in the ceremony held in Hyderabad Karnataka Chamber of Commerce and Industry Auditorium, Gulbarga. The selection for the V.N. Kagalkar Award was done by the committee taking into consideration merits and contribution of senior journalists of the region.

DSC_0727 copy

Mr Shivaraya Doddamani is a veteran journalist with decades of experience and is the Chief editor of Nripatunga Daily. He was also a close friend of VN Kagalkar Himself. the Co Awardee Mrs Sheela is a senior journalist who is associated with Kannada Daily newspaper Chintak in capacity of Chief Editor.

DSC_0740 copy

The other awards include the Raghu Jagirdhar Memorial Award Given to Mr Udupi Rao Talgul (Samyukta Karnataka ). The Shivanna Sahu Halkarta Yedrami Memorial Award went to Sanjay Chikmath of TV9. UNI reporter Mr K Suresh Desai won the Linganna Satyam Peeth Memorial Award. UdayaVaani’s K Suryakant Jamadar was selected for Alveli Narayan Kamitkar Award. Vijaya Karnataka’s K Devaiyah Guttedar was selected for Shrimati Shivakaami Ammal Memorial Award.

DSC_0572 copy

_DSC7710 copy

_DSC7719 copy

DSC_0646 copy

_DSC7711 copy


Leave a Reply